Image of a State Police helicopterThe New York State Police Aviation unit consists of five (5) stations with the headquarters located in Albany. The stations are strategically located to provide maximum coverage of available assets. The other stations are located at Adirondack Regional Airport (Saranac Lake), Stewart International Airport (Newburgh) Hancock International Airport (Syracuse), and Genesee County Airport (Batavia).

All stations are staffed to provide Law Enforcement Support , Search and Rescue and Medical Evacuation (MEDEVAC) services. In addition, both Albany and Saranac Lake stations provide support for Department of Environmental Conservation missions as well as aerial fire suppression missions.